mc branch couplers ok?

lamplight
lamplight Solar Expert Posts: 368 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
I have 3 paralleled sharp 175's and am adding a fourth soon hopefully. i just planned to do another branch coupler. i am still well within their rated amp capacity (30 amps). my local installer suggested i setup a separate combiner box with breaker for each panel.

any thoughts on this? obviously the couplers are easy and cheap. ive been using them on the 3 panels for a couple years, seems fine.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: mc branch couplers ok?

From what little I have seen, the series fuse ratings of most solar panels seem to limit their total short circuit current limits to a maximum of two parallel strings without fusing/circuit breaker on each string...

So for three more more strings, for safety, you should add something (fusing, breakers, combiner box) in each parallel connection to prevent a wire/panel short circuit from fire in the case of a short/panel failure in any once string.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • lamplight

thanks Bill

as i was writing my installer emailed me and said there can be voltage drop as well. (im paralleling all 4 panels) i figure i might as well get the combiner box and make it legal/up to code , especially if i may be having some voltage drop, want to get every bit of energy out of these that i can.

sometimes i think the 3 panels should put out more than they do , and i wonder if this has something to do with it. soon will find out.
  • BB.

There is always the solar voltage drop calculator to double check your voltage drops.

My two cents--unless you have a really big voltage drop issue or other "design" problem (such as Vmp is too low for battery bank + solar charge controller voltages)--I would look at other issues for low output (bad connection somewhere--battery post, solar panel string connection bad, open panel, etc.).