Question about MPPT and a single solar panel

I am new to the RE world and like so many others have become addicted. I am trying to figure out if I will see any benefit from using a MPPT charge controller if I only have a single 130 watt solar panel?
My Current configuration is:

1 x Kyocera KC130TM 130 watt panel 17.6V Vmpp, 7.39A Impp
MorningStar SunKeeper 12PWM controller
224Ah 12V Battery Bank

I have been looking at the Blue Sky 2512iX charge controller and wonder if I would see any benefit over my current SunKeeper 12PWM controller?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Question about MPPT and a single solar panel

Probably not worth the effort on it's own. If, on the other hand you are thinking of adding on in the future, an mppt controller would be helpful. I use the same BS 2512ix controller and I am very happy with the harvest. I get somewhere between 10-20% better harvest during bulk charging. As my battery approaches full, the advantage begins to be lost. It also is better in cold weather.

Having said all that, if I had to do it over again, I would consider a different controller. The 2512 series will only take 12vdc (nominal) input, so even if you have a number of panels, you can't run them at a higher series voltage to reduce line loss. Also, there is not a lot of 'headroom' to grow my system. 25 amps of 12vdc doesn't allow a lot of room to grow,,,in my case none. 200 watts and I am up against the ceiling on a cold clear day.

Icarus

PS. To some extent, the answer lies more in what is it you expect from your system. If your current configuration works well, then the answer would certainly no. If, on the other hand, you ALMOST get fully charged every day but not quite, then you might be able to make the case, but for the ~$200 you spend on the controller, perhaps you can get another panel which would put you way further ahead.
    T
  • n3qik
    n3qik Solar Expert Posts: 741 ✭✭