New guy needs your suggestions

Hi, first I gotta say I like this site, and I've learned a lot from you guys.
I'm pretty new to this solar and wind, I will make it short, 1st, My Battery bank is 2964 Amp-Hour, I got 245 watt PV, and a homemade wind turbine made from 2 back to back Ametek 38 volt motors, our wind here in San Antonio, Texas is about 7 MPH in a normal day turbine will generate about 6 -12 volts My battery bank is connected to 3000 watt inverter, that I have 1 computer + fax machine (100 watts ) which is on 10 hours a day, and a small TV, 40 watt, is on about 4 hours a day.
My wind turbine is connected direct to battery bank, PV’s are connected with a Xantrex C60 charge controller to the bank. I have diodes in positive lines of PV’s and wind turbine.
Now my problem, Looks like it that I don’t have enough charging power for everyday use. What do I do wrong?

All suggestions are welcome
I got pictures too if would help
Thanks in advance

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: New guy needs your suggestions

In short, as we say do the math,,,(I'm sure Bill will update,,,)

Your 240 watts of panels, assuming IDEAL conditions will put out (net) ~750 watt/hours per day. (240x5 hoursX60 net ef) I am assuming for the moment that the wind contributes nothing. Putting out ~6-12 volts doesn't mean much unless you give an amperage and a time frame.

You loads, using your numbers are ~1.4kw hours,, so you can see that you are generating only ~50% of what you are using. Even the biggest battery bank in the world will run down in that situation. Long and short you either need more generating capacity, or smaller loads, or a combination of both. We have ~ 200 watts of panel, and use about 500wh/day. This gives us about a 3 day reserve before our batteries drop below 80% soc.

Tony
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭