Please help a newbie (I am clueless)

This is my first experience with solar. I have been thinking about it for a while. I have read many discussions and articles on the subject, but most of it is above my head. I have no technical knowledge, so please bear with me. I am trying to heat my small green house (10' X 12') with solar. What I have purchased so far is a 15 watt- 12 volt panel, the recomended 4a controler for the panel, a 1000w marine inverter (I figured with the humidity it would be best), a deep cycle battery (not sure of the amps, etc.), and an oil filled electric heater with 600, 900, and 1500 watt settings. Last night was the first night I tried it. Needless to day when I went out this morning the battery was too low to run the heater. What do I need more batteries, another panel? If I need another panel do I need another controler? :confused:

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Please help a newbie (I am clueless)

For heating anything, you are much better off (about 60% more efficient), going with solar thermal, using the sun to warm water, and store the warmed water. You can use your electric parts to run a small water pump, but solar PV for electric heat is VERY inefficient.

You might want to look at the solar shed article for more inspiration.
    http://www.builditsolar.com/Projects/SpaceHeating/SolarShed/collectors.htm
    http://www.builditsolar.com/Projects/SpaceHeating/SolarShed/solarshed.htm

and maybe this string of posts:
    http://forum.solar-electric.com/showthread.php?t=2809
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||