Off Grid wiring Question

Hey everyone,

This board has been a great educational resource for best pv practices.

I'm new to the PV arena and am setting up a small system on my currently unpowered garden shed/ham shack.

I've done my power budget math and think I have that covered but have a wiring question.

The major components of my system are as follows:
1 - Evergreen ES 190
Morningstar mppt
Morningstar Suresine
12V battery bank consists of 3 parallel power battery SLF12205 agm (179AH)
Baby box to tie inverter, panels and cc together.
20' 6Ga run from pv to baby box

Now for my questions:
Can the Midnite Solar 63 amp ground fault protector double as a pv disconnect?

Do I need additional lower rating fuses between the pv panel and the CC?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Off Grid wiring Question

Hopp,

1) The GFI breaker is actually two breakers in one. There's also a small mechanically-parallel breaker (typically 0.5 A) that opens if there's a system ground fault, and it's this action that causes the 63 A breaker to open.

2) A circuit breaker's basic job is to protect the circuit wiring. Allowing for wire specs, conditions of use, various deratings, and the NEC (Article 310 in particular), you'd have to be using some pretty large wire for just the 63 A circuit breaker to be appropriate.

3) The Evergreen ES-190's Isc spec is 8.05 A. The design spec per NEC 690.8 is 8.05 A x 125% = 10.0625 A. You'll need a DC rated circuit breaker rated for 100% continuous duty at that value or the next higher standard value, which is 12 A. This breaker should be wired in series with the GFI breaker.

4) You could use this 12 A breaker as the PV DC disconnect, but, technically, you'd have to run the PV wires in EMT from the point of entry to the breaker box.

HTH,
    Jim / crewzer
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,432 admin