New to Solar, need some assistance or direction

Options
Well I'm brand new to solar energy. I want to create a nice system to power an appliance but from the snippets, facts and pdf's i've read it doesn't look like it will be an easy task to undertake by myself. The appliance I want to run uses 1300 watts per hour. I need to run this applience for 12 hours a day, 7 days a week totalling 84 hours a week at 1300 watts per hour. the appliance has a 11.5 amp start up(i dont really understand this but does it mean i need also a car battery?). How many deep cycle batteries would I need to store the energy to run this applience strictly from solar?
btw cost is no object.

-bryan

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: New to Solar, need some assistance or direction
    orinjjuse wrote: »
    btw cost is no object.

You really mean that???

Anyway, a back of the envelope calculation (using this government website to predict panel output):

Assume: Near Albany New York, that you will run 9 months of the year on full solar, you will still need a backup generator for bad weather, fixed array, standard flooded cell batteries (80% efficient), 95% efficient charge controller, 85% efficient 120/240 VAC inverter (total derating factor of 0.52).

1.3kW * 12 hours/day * 30 days per month = 468 kWhrs per month

Using the Government website (0.52 derating factor for off-grid system) we find that a 1kW panel will give a minimum of 59 kWHrs per month minimum for 9 months out of the year (low is 35-37 kWhrs per month in winter)...

468 kWhrs per month needed / 59 kWhrs per 1kW of panels = 7.93 kWatts of solar panels (you would need 2x as many panels to run solar during November/December months)...

Amount of batteries needed (battery should be 6x rated load--3 days of no sun with 50% maximum depth of discharge):

1,300Watt * 12 hours * 6 * 1/85% (inverter efficiency) * 1/48 volt battery bank = 2,294 Amp*Hours at 48 volts