Please Help!! A few Questions on building a System?

Hi,

Can someone please help me with the following sizing calculations?

I am new to Solar Energy and would like to build a simple Solar Thermal System capable of generating 5KWp AC to help a few folks in a rural area. I should be able to add additional capacity on a as needed/funding available basis by simply adding more units later.

The Alternator will be coupled with a Steam Engine of appropriate capacity...

My Questions are:

1. What should be the capacity of the alternator to output 5KWp? Specifically, at what RPM should it rotate to generate the required electricity?

2. What should be the Capacity of the Steam Engine in HP to be able to power the Alternator at required RPM?

3. If the RPM from the Steam Engine varies based on the Steam input variances what happens to the Alternator Output...I'm looking for RPM and Output in KW
numbers.

4. Any suitable Off the shelf Steam engines and Alternators that I can simply purchase? A few brand names would tremendously help.

Not sure what additional information can I provide to help me build a system.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• hermit
    hermit Solar Expert Posts: 25
    Re: Please Help!! A few Questions on building a System?

why steam? expensive equipment, quality steam required in a determined range of dryness, constant exhaust drained to? supply of steam from? added future capability (bigger initial turbine) fluctuating steam supply (pressure/dryness?) alternator that likes varying speeds and keep at freq? who will monitor/maintain turbine? steam is not a source of energy to use unless you are qualified. anything can be made to work but at what cost and how much time to run and maintain. good luck.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    hermit wrote: »