wayyy too new to this, but wana learn

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi everyone, im very new to this but im interested in learning. I want to build a solar panel, i found a web site that sales broken solar cell and i wana buy a couple of boxes and put them together http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G4497

and i already have some sources that will help me put them together but my question are the fallowing,

1. are those cells worth buying from that site?as in the quality of those cells.
2.i have a 36 watt fish tank that i keep on for about 8 hours a day, how big (LxWxH) would i need to achieve this (if possible)
3. what else would i need to know to make this happen (type of battery,wires,controller etc...)

thanks for any advice and info provided,again im new to this but really want to learn thanks :D

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: wayyy too new to this, but wana learn

Do a search on this forum for posts of others building panels.

Simple answer is don't waste your time or money. You can't build a quaility panel for less than buying a manufactured one, no "if's" "or's" or "Butts" about it.

As for powering a FishTank ... quick math would suggest about 300 watt/hours and you'll need about 120 watts of solar to handle that with a very little margin. Also, pumps should be run 24/7 on Fish Tanks or your Fish could have some serious health issues
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

wow 300 watts/hour thats crazy lol, y isnt it worth buying broken n puting together (not to be disrespectfull just curious), i mean if u buy enough but i know the time to put them together would looooots,is there any cheap 1's out there? (like 200 bucks)