Wanting to do the right thing. Solar.

I recently paid a company to do a site survey for a solar array. I figured the $150 cost was well worth the expense because I'm a complete novice when it comes to these things. My goal is to pare as much off my monthly gas and electric bill as I can. I'm replaced every light bulb in the house with the more efficient bulbs just in time to discover that the LED's are better in some applications. I've more than cut my electric and gas bill in half be being more energy aware and switching from a gas fireplace that was rarely used to a wood burning one. Stop screaming. I know about carbon footprint and all of that. I'm clearing land for a wetlands area and had the wood for free.

The proposal that I got back was for a 5 KW system of solar arrays. Ther3e was no battery packs included in this estimate. The price quoted was $45,000 and that would possibly be reduced with state and federal rebates and incentives and tax deductions. They verbally said that the actual cost would probably be closer to $25,000 after incentives. My degree is in economics and that side of me got me to wondering what the alternative was. If I invested $45,000 in CD at 5% I could make $2,250 a year. My gas and electric bill isn't that much. Like I said, I want to do the right thing when it comes to environment and carbon footprint, but the economics just isn't there for me. Was I quoted an incredibly high cost of installation for a 5KW system or is that about right?

I own a farm and have no obstructing building or plants that would be a problem. It's very flat here and I have a clear path to the southern sky. What's your collective expert opinion what a 5KW system should cost? I considered wind, but reading several posting on this site I really have my doubts that it is viable for me.

I'm at your mercy. Tell me what to do. I'm 60 and need as much money saved to hire the cutest nurse possible when I do retire.

Comments

• Solar Guppy