What the best cooker for solar panels?

Mike_Venus
Mike_Venus Registered Users Posts: 4
What should I choose for cooking by electricity from solar panels? What is the most effective?
I think that it can be an induction cooker or a pressure cooker. I suppose that the pressure cooker is better, but I have no experience in owning of this cookers. I don't know the power consumption of this things.
I use only a cast iron cooker in city. For calculating the power of PV system I should choose the type of cooker.
Also I want to know, is the microwave heater good for solar panels to heating the food, what is the best boiler for solar panels? What voltage and type of current should I use for heating or boiling?
Please, share your experience

Comments

• jonr
    jonr Solar Expert Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭✭
    You might also investigate a "thermal cooker" (an insulated pot that uses retained heat).  Or propane.

In general, the most efficient device will be the one that releases the least amount of heat into the air.

I am available for custom hardware/firmware development

• oil pan 4
    oil pan 4 Solar Expert Posts: 767 ✭✭✭✭
    If you insist on using cooking appliances then you need at least a 24v system.

I'm just going to use propane for cooking. Using electrical solar power for routine cooking doesn't make any sense to me.

Solar hybrid gasoline generator, 7kw gas, 180 watts of solar, Morningstar 15 amp MPPT, group 31 AGM, 900 watt kisae inverter.

Solar roof top GMC suburban, a normal 3/4 ton suburban with 180 watts of panels on the roof and 10 amp genasun MPPT, 2000w samlex pure sine wave inverter, 12v gast and ARB air compressors.

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Use both propane and electricity. It gives you a back-up offgrid.