Seeing output results that look odd to me.

Hi, I am a solar newbie.   I setup a victron 100/50 controller to my RV house battery bank, 6v batteries connected up to give 12v.   Today I hooked up 4 160w flexible solar panels, each 2 serially, then paralleled to the controller.   This was just a test senario prior to putting them on the roof, they were laying flat on the ground, very similar to their orientation for the roof.
At 11am today the Victron was seeing 425w from the panels up from about 375 watts at 10am,  were charging the batteries in "Bulk" at around 30 amp.    Around noon I went back out to check if the wattage was closer to 500w from the panels, but it said 102w and 7amps going into the Battery in "Float", not Bulk anymore.  Not sure where absorb went, but thats not the question for this thread.  
My question is,  what happened to the incoming watts?  Being a newbie,  I think the watts from the panels should still be up near 500w, not at 102w.    I would think that only the amps to the batteries would be throttled down due to Float mode but that the panels would still be producing 500 or so watts. 

Did my panels go Kaput?    Or is that normal?  

What is happening to the other 400w if this is normal, are they becoming heat somewhere? 

Thanks, Bill
4 each Renogy 160w Solar Panels mounted flat on RV roof, Serially connected @ ~80v,  Victron 100/50 MPPT controller.  520AH LA batteries @ 12volt, 2800w PSW Magnum Inverter.   Bogart Trimetric. 

Comments

• Thom
    Thom Solar Expert Posts: 196 ✭✭✭
    I think it’s working correctly. I’m in float mode panels output is 47.6v .7a 33w charge controller output to batteries 2.3a 13.4v

Thom
    Off grid since 1984. 430w of panel, 300w suresine , 4 gc batteries 12v system, Rogue mpt3024 charge controller , air breeze windmill, Mikita 2400w generator . Added 2@ 100w panel with a midnight brat 
  • littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭✭✭