Help Midnite Solar Classic 150 Experts - Resting not float

tr0y
tr0y Solar Expert Posts: 99 ✭✭✭
Hi All - 

I have a Midnite solar Classic 150 in my RV, I have approximately 1600 watts  6 275 watt panels,  of PV on the roof wired in Series / Parallel ( yes slightly over paneled but within the OK via Midnite Solars site, they are also flat mounted in a very hot climate. ) 

I am new to this controller, have had Outback controllers for the last 10 years and thought I would give one of these a try, so looking at it is is reading 60.x watts 0000 watts coming in  and resting. Batteries reading 13.2v Should I now not be in float rather than resting ?  Panels were working fine last night and early this AM ? The Midnite solar manual is not the greatest. Is this normal or should I start looking for issues ? 

Thanks 

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If the battery voltage is above the setpoint for the stage you are in, it goes to RESTING.  Do you have another charge source active now?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• tr0y
    No no other charge sources available. This now would make sense as Float is set @ 13.4v per battery manufacturer spec, and it is also 107F outside. It would be my guess that the temperature compensation is seeing that and backing the voltage down slightly. My bet is if I did the math I am right about where I should be.