OffGrid Newbie

I've done plenty of grid-tie roof and ground arrays and it's my first time doing off-grid. I have done a lot of homework on this.
I need a sanity check and some pointers, if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated!

There are 2 roofs which are separated by 20'.
Roof 1 is on a shed with (6) Solarworld 255W (600V modules)
Roof 2 is on the house with (8) Yingli 230W (600V modules)
7 Strings with 2 panels each
Total array size is 3.37kW
I wanted to use the same manufacturer for all the equipment (BOS):
Roof 1, I was going to use Outback FWPV6-FH600-SDA with 3 strings fused and with Rapid Shutdown
Roof 2, I was going to use Outback FWPV6-FH600-SDA with 4 strings fused and with Rapid Shutdown
If I'm going to use Outback Flexmax 80 as Charge/Controller, how do I get the outputs from both Combiner/Rapid Shutdown Boxes to connect to the Rapid Shutdown Initiator and the FlexMax?
After the Charge Controller, continue on to the 48V Battery Bank, then to the Inverter GS4048A with disconnects on either side of the battery bank
The inverter will then be connected to a load panel. There is a generator in place which would be connected to the inverter. Correct?

If you need more info, I will be glad to post.
Thanks!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    TPrice,

I have not looked at wiring the newer Outback hardware--But Outback does have an extensive catalog of very detailed wiring diagrams for their products. I would start here first:

http://outbackpower.com/wiring-diagrams

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    If this is the first offgrid install, why use the roof? The rapid shut-down is not needed for a ground mount. All of those strings go away with a hv mppt.Yuk too much work.....   Good Luck
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area