Solar Powered Pontoon Boat

A little history. I have been dabbling in solar for quite a few years. I have a solar powered door on the chicken coop that opens at dawn and closes 1 hour after dusk. It has been working for 6 years with one recent battery change. I have a 130w panel on a north south, east west tracker powering 4, 6v gc2 batteries in series hooked to a samlex 24v 2000w psw inverter , monitored by a bogart 2025. Backup power is a 6hp 4.4 kw single cylinder, 750 rpm diesel lister type engine that turns a 150amp, 24v truck alternator thru a balmar controller. It also spins a 7.5 KW gen head for other loads. Well I picked up an old (1995) 18' pontoon boat the other day with a 50 hp 2 cycle outboard. This boat was begging for a trolling motor. I picked up a 12v minn kota 30# trolling motor and rigged it up on the back of the boat to see what it would do. It would move the boat about 2 mph. I put on my inventors hat and went to work with a few ideas I had up my sleeve. I decided that I would use 2 trolling motors, one behind each log, to power the boat. I removed the top of the motors and rigged up some linear actuators for steering and also for power trim.

Comments

• squarebob
    squarebob Registered Users Posts: 25 ✭✭✭
    I wired the motors in series so I could feed them with 24 volts. With the control heads removed, I ran the power to the motors thru a pwm motor controller rated at 1440 watts at 24v ( 60 amp). Motor amp checks revealed they required about 650 watts at 100% draw.

• squarebob
    I converted the folding bimini top to a framework for a solid top and a couple solar panels

• squarebob
    I have taken it out a few times just on batteries and with putting around and fishing I used about 35 amp hours in 4 hours. I have 4, 6v gc2 batteries mounted on the front of the pontoon

The atv winch makes for a great anchor windlass!!
  • squarebob
    my days of hot rod boating are long gone

• BB.