I have a solar energy job interview in the following days

ahmedzein
ahmedzein Registered Users Posts: 4
edited July 2018 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
I have been to the last stage which is the technical interview ,and i have known from a friend in this company that the interview will focus mainly on the electrical side of the pv .
I need to know what kind of questions will i be asked regarding the electricity because I am a mechanical engineer and my electric information are just fundamental.So if anyone could help with some topics to read or the kind of questions that will be asked i will be very grateful .
Thanks in advance

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Just admit to what you don't know, honesty is what an employer will be looking for, and need.

I suspect there will be someone who has a strong technical knowledge to run the jobs.

If it's for small residential installations, might make your self aware of the differences between micro-inverters and String inverters(I used this as I lack the knowledge of a better term)

Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    This is a thread were we put a lot of "interesting facts" and links for solar power... Take a quick look through and read some of the details.

http://forum.solar-electric.com/discussion/4426/working-thread-for-solar-beginner-post-faq/p1

The basic electrical formulas work just fine for most solar questions;

http://www.sengpielaudio.com/calculator-ohm.htm

They can all be derived from circuit theory and calculas -- But the basics will serve you well: