Use of OFF-Grid-Only AC Coupling with MicroInverters? Good or Bad Idea?

keepdoing
keepdoing Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm a bit frustrated.  I want a totally off-grid system.  I want simple and reliable.  I want an auto-backup generator.  But I am not an electrician, nor an exceptional DIY guy that can do this stuff myself.  So I have now run through almost every Solar Installer in the North Georgia Mountain area - and still can't manage to find anyone willing to put together what I (ME) the Customer wants.

Everybody wants to sell me Grid-Tied.  The latest proposal is the subject of this post.  The proposed system is for an "off-grid" system that involves ..... an approximately 4500W Array with GT500 Microinverters AC Coupled to a Magnum 4448PAE, a 14kw LifePo4 Battery System, autobacked up by a 3kw or 7kw Honda Generator that is retrofitted to be powered by propane, fed by a 1000+ Gallon Propane reservoir.  Any excess power capacity would be fed to a Dump (an unused water heater most likely).

I know that tech has come a long way.  I know that these sort of AC Coupled "off-grid" systems have come about largely because "Grid-Tied" system sellers have increasingly met resistance from customers that want to use the generated Solar for Emergency Backup power, and don't understand that when the grid goes down on a traditional grid tied system - so does your solar power.  So this has emerged as an increasingly promoted solution..... for TEMPORARY emergency backup into an offgrid situation in the event of grid power outage.

I have done a LOT of reading and research on this, and this is generally what I have found to be concerns, concerns that might also be greatly exacerbated if I were to use this configuration for a 100% Fulltime PERMANENT Off-Grid system.....
  1. It's overly complex and therefore increases the odds of system failure (including battery damage to overcharge).