Solar system configuration for newbie

zbowdawg
zbowdawg Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Greetings,

I am new to solar and new to forums, so even though I looked for answers, it's confusing and therefore I am sure I am going to ask for information that has been covered a thousand times before...  I apologize in advance.  BTW, I suck at math.

So that I don't blow up any equipment or waste money on components that wont work together, here is what I have so far:

I was given six 12 volt, 200 watt mono crystalline panels:
  • Maximum Power Output:  200 Watts
  • Max Operating Voltage (Vmpp):  21.052Volts
  • Max Operating Current (Imp):  9.50Amps
  • Open Circuit Voltage (Voc):  24.335Volts
  • Short Circuit Current (Isc):  9.87 Amps
  • Module Efficiency:  17.3%
I bought two Renology 12 volt, 200Ah, Deep Cycle AGM Batteries:
  • 200Ah@10hr-rate to 10.8V @25°C
I would just like to run some household appliances during the day and at night... one or more depending on what I can build to support them.  The heavier load support and for the longest amount of time is preferred.

I think I have a basic idea of set-up configuration; panels to charge controller, charge controller to battery bank, battery bank to inverter, inverter to load (appliance).

What I don't know is:
  • Whether to set up the panels in serial or parallel
  • Whether to set up the batteries in serial or parallel
  • What would be a good charge controller, brand and model
  • What would be a good inverter, brand and model
I believe that depending on serial or parallel would determine the system voltage, but I don't know how that affects anything else.