I want to get into solar where do i begin?

drops101
drops101 Registered Users Posts: 4
ok so to start off i kind of aware on how they work and the uses for them.

i am a electrician so wiring and soldering come with expierence

i have small solar panels but the dont have much watts or juice to do anything i have been able to convince the wife to let me buy 100 watt solar panels once a month or should i buy the 200 and wait for every two months? but i dont know who to buy from /

i also read somewhere to not mix solar panels up and afraid of buying them once a month and having mixed panels 

thank you so much for your help i appreciate it

Comments

• petertearai
    petertearai Solar Expert Posts: 471 ✭✭✭✭
    good advice in thss forum .
    If i was you id put $100 per month into an account , and do some study on solar  . this site is excellent . Buying piecemeal is not a good idea .
    Work out what you hope to achieve . first . 
    Follow some threads for a while and you will see mistakes and good advice .
    It can be interisting.
    All the best  Peter
    2225 wattts pv . Outback 2kw  fxr pure sine inverter . fm80 charge controller . Mate 3. victron battery monitor . 24 volts  in 2 volt Shoto lead carbon extreme batterys. off grid  holiday home 
  • drops101
    I hear ya well I'd like to have a offgrid system that's my goal but only something more for like emergency id like to maybe have 3 good amp circuits I can run independently off my electric panel

Just something like a fridge a tv and something I can use to charge devices

I currently have two batteries each 75 ah wired in series

And a 1800 watt pure sine wave inverter
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not sure what you mean by "3 good amp circuits" I run my home off an 1800 watt inverter, I just don't run everything at once.

If you have 2 batteries run in series, I would assume you have a 24 volt system?