few questions about solar (a newbie)

Nabiru3
Nabiru3 Registered Users Posts: 13 ✭✭
edited April 2018 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hello guys
my name is Nabil, and I am new to the solar power world and I have got few simple questions (just to be on the safe side)

question 1) I have got 1 MPPT morningstar tristar 30A charge contoller and 2 LG 315 panels (around 33Vmpp each) and 2 12v batteries wired in series (24v system) now I have the options of both wiring the solar panels in parallel or in series (cause the charge controller can take up to 30A and 150V). now (as the old legend says) if you have a 24v battery bank you should connect it to a 24v nominal panel array, right ? BUT, with an MPPT controller it is different as it can handle large volts to make them charge lower battery nominal voltage (boost current feature) so now i am confused as I can connect both panels in either way and still get the same output, so which method should I go with series or parallel ???
(btw, in the manual it says it is better to charge low nominal voltage battery using a higher nominal voltage panel(s) NOT the opposite though)

question 2) My 24v system inverter(which is indian btw) has a battery type switch in the back where it says I should either choose (Tubular or Flat plate), I know that Lead Acid batteries are categorized as (VLA & VRLA) and some VRLA types are GEL and AGM batteries, but I really don't know what kind of battery classification (Tubular and Flat plate) is. so if you please tell my which battery type option i should go with ? btw, my batteries are of type (Trojan VRLA AGM 12V) 

question 3) (I am really sorry this is being overly annoying :# )  I have a 0.5hp (370w 1.7a rated) domestic water pump, if we say I run it for 1 straight hour on a 300AH 12v battery(which 100% full), how much of battery juice I will get remaining (considering both the continuous running wattage and the starting Amp (LRA) consumption of the pump motor)