GE washing machine won't run off inverter power

fredb
fredb Registered Users Posts: 11 ✭✭
 Sorry if this issue was discussed in another thread, I searched and did not find one though.

I have a 4.5kw off grid soar power system from wholesale solar. Dual magna sine inverters. 48 volt system. 860 Ah capacity. 12kw winco backup genset.

Ive been running the whole house on the system for several months. TV, satellite receivers, computers, gas dryer, gas range (having some built in electronics)- all work fine. The lights dim slightly when the electric fridge or well pump comes on but not a problem.

I just tried using a new electric washer for the first time It has all the latest load sensing and other features I would prefer to not have. It won't work on inverter power. Works fine when running off a honda 2000 watt genny or when i have the big genny running.

I returned the first washer to the store thinking it was defective however when the second one failed too, I began to suspect my power supply.

Inverter power has 123-124 volts measured at the outlet. frequency I don't know.

Anyone else have issues with newer type washers on inverter power?

What type of 110v washers are you using successfully with your inverter power?

Thanks for any help!!

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Can you elaborate a little on what the symptoms are, for example attempts to start then shuts down or the inverter shuts down or goes into fault , this would be helpful. Have you measured voltage sag on both AC and DC of the inverter? 
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.