Solar Panel Setup for a Fahrenheat FUH54 240-volt Garage Heater, 2500-5000-watt

gwpguy
gwpguy Registered Users Posts: 1
I am extremely new to the Solar energy technology.   So excuse me in advance for my lack of knowledge.   
I am considering buying this heater for my garage.   I am contemplating using solar to help keep the energy costs down.   I don't even know where to start.    What size panels?  Batteries? Inverter?  This would not be on 24 x 7.   Probably just on the weekend while I am in the garage and a few nights out of the week.   Any insights you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Here are the specs on the heater.
https://www.marleymep.com/system/files/node/file/field-file//5200-11195-000.pdf

Comments

• NANOcontrol
    NANOcontrol Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭✭
    How may panels are you thinking about buying??????  I consider that heater undesirable as it requires a fan.  Best performance would be from baseboard heaters with natural convection.  A guy on youtube has a liquid floor heating system for his garage using a hot water tank and pump.  That would provide some storage for the weekend.  If using an inverter, that is delusional.  A pulsed DC system is the best for resistive heating. I heat all my hot water with PV solar which is now cheaper than direct solar.  No one here has more experience heating with PV and given that all the electronics is custom it seems you will have little success with this idea.
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    gwpguy said:
    I am contemplating using solar to help keep the energy costs down.   
    Solar will almost always be more expensive than grid energy. Even in spots where it can be cost effective, solar energy is much more costly when you don't have even energy use profile as the sun's energy is spread somewhat evenly in daily doses and using it only on weekends requires larger storage.