Solar not working right

chasegarland
chasegarland Registered Users Posts: 3
I installed a solar system on my rv and it doesn’t seem to be working properly. Mainly, after the batteries are fully charged they drain much faster than I think they should. I have 560 watts of solar panels and four brand new 75 amp hour deep cycle batteries. The solar seems to charge them wonderfully especially on sunny days. One example of the battery drain: Batteries we’re reading 12.6v, turned on inverter ( 3000w pure sine inverter) to charge phone. After 1 hour the battery is reading 12.2v. This is with nothing else plugged in to draw power and with one led light on. I am a solar beginner and at a loss. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What brand inverter? Inverters can have somewhat high self usage. Are they 75 amp 6 volt batteries? or do you have 4 parallel strings of 12 volt batteries? I take it this is at night and you don't have solar still connected to your system?
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Many inverters consume a large amount of power just being turned on.   I'd look into getting a Morningstar 300w suresine inverter for charging little stuff. 
    Currently, you are using 10w for charging and likely 150w just having the inverter on.