Advise for wiring and fuse

Gilberto
Gilberto Registered Users Posts: 17 ✭✭
Hello! I am new in matters related to solar energy, I have only read a little and until now I have bought the following to install a basic Off grid system for future emergencies in Puerto Rico.

. 3 PV Boviet 260w 60 cel Poly
Model BVM6610P-260
Vmp 30.7v
Imp 8.42a
Voc 38.0v
Isc 9.01a
Max series fuse rate 15a

. SRNE ML4860 mppt CC 60a
. Jupiter 12v inverter 2000w continuous
. 2 Autocraft Deep Cicle Marine 85ah 12v
. Also have a 60a DC breaker and another of 30a

I know it is not the best but I hope in the future to make upgrades little by little.

*I need to know what gauge wires and fuses or breakers I need to use between...
. PV to CC, need fuse for each panel? Parallel or series?
. CC to batteries and
. Batteries to inverter

I will greatly appreciate the guidance they can offer.

Gilbert
Tagged:

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2018 #2
    With the panels listed, parallel would be the best option for a 12V nominal system, each panel should be fused with a 10-15A fuse before the combination. The gauge of the conductors PV to CC  will depend on the distance between the two  ( need this information for an accurate size recomendation ) as well as distance between CC to battery and battery to inverter. Keeping all as short as possible will keep costs to a minimum, the 30A breaker could be used as a disconnect PV to CC the 60A breaker could be used, for now, battery to inverter, since your battery capacity is low it would be advisable to keep loads to a minimum, this would allow ~750W maximum of the inverter's maximum capacity. Working with loads including when used to suit what you have would be advisable, as it stands the battery is small, the inverter too large but it's what you have, it's not necessarily the information you requested, but it is important to understand the limitations.