Battery sizing for 600W panels

trungson
trungson Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi,

Newbie here! I'm upgrading my existing old system from 2x100W to 6x100W panels and replacing the old battery. I just got Midnite Solar 150 Classic MPPT controller. I plan to re-use the current 12V inverter so it'll be a 12V system. I read here that the charge rate should be 5%-13% of the battery bank's Ah so that the batteries last as long as possible. Usage is small (some USB-powered wifi cameras). Would 600W panels enough to keep 4 6V (Costco golf cart) batteries (225Ah x 2) fully charged? 

Thanks for any advise.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    So calculate your loads, we can't do this.

Then figure how much charging you will get from your panels, 600 watts using a PWM charge controller, will yield differently depending on the VMP. many of today's 100 watt panels have a vmp of 18.9 volts. So 600 watts would yield about 30 amps IMP and a bit less in real world numbers. say 25 amps to be safe, should support about 250 amphour battery bank at 10%, I'd just use 2 golf cart batteries. 

With daily cycling I like to use the 10% charging rate as a minimum. if you are in a particularly sunny area, say the Southwest US, you could support 4 6 volt batteries, but in areas with multiple cloudy days, I likely wouldn't try it.
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭