Looking for recommendations for 12v relay to control 120v circuit

Cyber2lz
Cyber2lz Registered Users Posts: 2
New to Solar.  I would like some recommendations for a 12v control of a 120 volt ac circuit.
I have a Midnite Classic CC and want to use Aux1 (in Diversion mode) to control a 120v relay that turns a 120v / 20 amp circuit on/off. The Classic will monitor the battery voltage and turn the relay on @ 13vdc and turn off @ 12.4vdc.
The 120V AC circuit is coming from my Magnasine inverter.
This relay only needs to turn on/off the hot wire! (Yes/No ?)  I'm no electrician!  I do computers,

Russ
http://www.cyber2lz.com/solar.htm

Comments

• dennis461
    dennis461 Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭✭
    Are you switching pure sine wave, and how many amps.

High Reliability Solid State Relays

PART NUMBER: SSRL660DC50

Camden County, NJ, USA
    19 SW285 panels
    SE5000 inverter
    grid tied
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes, the relay would normally (but not always) switch just the live 120vac (hot) wire. It's a pretty simple device, coil voltage (12v in this case) switches the load connection. It could be normally off (NO - the load circuit is open unless coil voltage closes it), or normally closed (NC - the load circuit is closed unless the coil forces it open). As I understand it though, the load and use matters.

One factor is power needed to hold state. A mechanical relay takes power to hold "other" state (so a NC held open takes power to stop a load from running, a NO held closed takes power to run the load). As a general proposition, we don't care a lot about the current needed to keep a NO relay closed to run an opportunity load, but your use may be different.