newbie - mini shed install!

apples12
apples12 Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi all,
I'm new to solar and this will be a DIY install, hoping to get some help with this.

I will be connecting a single device which as a maximum power rating of 60w and a bulb with a rating of 10w

I have sourced a panel

It is a Canadian Solar CS6P-255P

http://www.solardesigntool.com/components/module-panel-solar/Canadian-Solar/2613/CS6P-255P/specification-data-sheet.html

What sort of inverter would I need with this and what kind of battery to reliably power the above load for a continuous 24 hour cycle? I.e. this will be 'always on'

Any help/tips are appreciated - off I go to read the stickies!

Thank you

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi. Welcome to the forum.

If the 60w device and/or 10w bulb aren't purely resistance loads (eg. heaters, incandescent or halogen bulbs), I'd use a pure sine wave inverter. Electronics and other non-resistance loads may run fine, but may run hot, or not at all on modified/square wave inverters. If the 60w load is a motor/pump, check for locked rotor amps in the specs, as a 60w max running amp pump could draw several times that to start. Assuming no high pump start needs, something like a PST120-12v Samlex could work.

70w x 24hrs = 1680 watt-hours/day. With inverter/charging losses, that's ~2000w/day needed for charging and the loads. In most locations, most of the year, it's reasonable to expect ~4-5hrs of equivalent to full sun on average daily, and for panels to output ~NOCT spec power, or about 75% of the STC rating. For your panel, that's ~255x75%x4hrs=765w average per day. You can estimate power more accurately for your location at pvwatts.nrel.gov