Batteries are down to 23% and Conext MPPT 60 150 Controller is faulting Out

Hi,

I had a turnkey solar system with a battery backup installed that is certainly NOT turnkey..  I am a NOVICE and do not understand most abbreviations, so I need plain English help.  I have 8 Trojan LC16 Re-B 6V batteries wired in series.  The system keeps faulting out saying DC Over-voltage shutdown.  The trigger is set for 26V.  Should the configuration for this system be higher?  I am pretty sure the system in configured wrong, but I do not know how to set it correctly.  I called tech support at Schneider, but they won't talk to residential owners on the weekend.  Will someone please help me?  Thanks!

Comments

• Raj174
    Raj174 Solar Expert Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭
    Hello Dianne,
    Have you tried reseting the charge controller? You can do so by shutting off the PV in breaker then the charge controller breaker to the battery. Then switch the charge controller breaker back on. If the charge controller comes up ok, then switch the PV in breaker back on. It may be that the PV in voltage is too high.

Rick
    4480W PV, MNE175DR-TR, MN Classic 150, Outback Radian GS4048A, Mate3, 51.2V 360AH nominal LiFePO4, Kohler Pro 5.2E genset.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Can you tell us a bit more about your system?

What model/brand of solar charge controller... Are you charging with another source (backup genset, AC mains, AC to DC battery charger, wind turbine, etc.)?

Also, do you have a volt meter of some sort--Have you measured the bank voltage?

What is the solar array (brand/model of solar panels, how are they are they wired--I.e., 2 in series * 3 parallel strings, etc.)?

26 volts does not sound like a reasonable over voltage alarm for any typical battery bank (>~16 volts for a 12 volt bank, over >~32 volts for a 24 volt bank, etc.). Is this a battery bank or a solar array over voltage alarm?