Offgrid Over Voltage issue. Over Voltage light blinking on PWM

WastelanderGuy
WastelanderGuy Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
Greetings! 
When I plug my solar panel into to my PWM, it says that it is "Over Voltage" (Blinking green light, whereas solid green would mean "Charging"). Sadly the PWM's manual doesn't give much in the way of a description and I am at a bit of a loss as to what this means.
Heck, I was worried my solar panel was going to be too small.
Is this just merely an issue of the PWM being to puny, and should I bump up to a 30A PWM, or am I missing something completely?
This is my first build and I thought I had done all my research, crossed my T's, dotted my I's, etc. and that it should be working pretty spot-on.

Thanks for any input on this. Totally scratching my head over here.

Here's what I'm working with:
PWM ~
20A cheapo from China
specs: http://www.ebay.com/itm/111988614245?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&var=410930968477&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Solar Panel ~ 
Specs summary: 100W Polycrystalline Solar Panel; Peak Power:100W; Max Power Voltage(Vmp):18V; Max Power Current(Imp):5.56A; Open Circuit Voltage(Voc):21.6V; Short Circuit Currect(Isc):5.95A; Max System Voltage:600V
full specs: http://www.ebay.com/itm/182197628255?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Battery ~
1x 100ah Marine Deep Cycle

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    you did not tell us what the conditions such as temp are today where ever you are...??

Barring that, if you plans on getting more panels,  I think you need a a MidNite BRAT...  http://www.midnitesolar.com/pdfs/spec_sheet_brat_frontBack.pdf
    thjat cheap Chinese charge controller may be DOA...

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,