13»

Comments

• bmet
    bmet Solar Expert Posts: 630 ✭✭
    Re: 3 Blades vs 5 Blades

not even long enough to get your first electric bill
  • lucymarco
    lucymarco Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1
    I'm a middle school student and i'm working on a project about wind turbines my hypothesis was if 3, 6 and 8 blades put on a wind turbine 3 blades will produce the most electricity. but my results show that 6 blades was the best and 3 blades was the worst. I didn't find any reason why? 
    now I should write my conclusion that why 6 blades was better the 3 blades and I should give a  reason why? I don't know what to do. do you have any suggestion for me to write in my conclusion?
  • mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2017 #64
    There difference between a 3 blade and 6 blade is, the 3 blade can operate at higher speeds before the blades begin entering the wake of the other blades, which is favorable for electrical generation. However a turbine is used for direct power, such as  pumping water, where speed is not as important as torque, more blades such as 6, will be benificial because speed is not a requirement, therefore blade turbulence is less of an issue. See link for more information 
    https://www.quora.com/Why-is-3-the-optimal-number-of-blades-on-a-wind-turbine-instead-of-say-5-or-more
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • BilljustBill
    BilljustBill Solar Expert Posts: 219 ✭✭✭
    bmet said: