Solar panels and controllers

edwing
edwing Registered Users Posts: 4
edited November 2017 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
I am a beginner on this, I bought three 260W solar panels, a PWM charge controller 12/24 50A and a 5000watt 12v inverter that is going to be with 4 12 volt batteries.

We installed the panels and found out that they are 37volt panels and I can not return them back. Here in Puerto Rico with Hurricane Maria hit us hard and power is down.

I need you help and expertise to fix or alter this problem. I see in the internet that it won't work. Any help is welcome.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would think we are trying to find the least costly way to effectively use they panels?

What is the VOC and VMP of the panels? or what is the actual panel name Like "Trina Solar TSM-260" or you can count all the cells on the panel, there should be either 60 or 72.

Nothing will be simple, The panels are likely 60 cell panels, good news it you could use the inverter you have, but will need a MPPT type charge controller, not inexpensive. If they are 72 cell panels, you could configure your batteries in a 24 volt system (2 parallel strings of 2) and buy a 24 volt inverter, a better option in my opinion. The 5000 watt inverter is larger than you want to use on 12 volts and larger than you would normally try to run on a system with 780 watts of array.

I'm hoping you have 72 cell panels, it would make for a better system.

If you have 60 cell panels, which I suspect. You should look for a MPPT type inverter with 60 or more amps of output.

Something like The Midnite Classic SL
    https://www.solar-electric.com/midnite-solar-classic-150-sl-charge-controller.html