Help with inverter and battery size

Alexus
Alexus Registered Users Posts: 1
I have 3 panels total . I have  2.  300 watt.   44Voc and 1 235 watt with 36 Vic
I got all of these second hand so I need some help to figure out what size inverter I need and what size batteries I need. This is not for a whole house more like general purposes lights small appliances TV laptop. Please help thanks I am new to this

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would put the 300w panels in series to an mppt charge controller, and the 235 on a separate pwm controller.

This should give you something like 20a charging at 24v into 4 6v flooded golf cart batteries wired in series and parallel for ~225 amp-hours at 24v nominal - about 2500 watt-hours of usable capacity.

The inverter size depends on what sort of small appliances you want to run. Heating type appliances (eg. toaster) take a lot more than a shaver, for example. Things with motors (pump, shopvac) can take a lot of inrush current to start.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum Alexus.

A few questions... Need to confirm that both sets of panels are Vmp~35-36 volts (Voltage maximum power) or if the panels are Vmp~30 volts or both types. Voc is less interesting (at the moment)--Although, having rest of the numbers (Voc, Vmp, Isc, Imp) would probably save us asking questions later. When mixing and matching solar panels, there are details about the electrical ratings that need to "match" in order to have an efficient and well working system.

Do you plan on adding more solar panels later?

Where will you be installing the system--Guessing Atlanta Georgia for the moment.