Joining parallel strings using MC4 Y connectors with a Schneider XW 6848 and MPPT 80 charge cntrls

Hi!

I am a solar engineer in training and loving it so far.  I have a good understanding of electricity but I'm relatively new to understanding the NEC.

I'm designing a system with:

2 Schneider XW 6848 Inverters
2 Schneider MPPT 80 600 charge controllers
4 strings of 9 Yingli 265W panels (YL265-29b)
A long conduit run from the array to the inverters in the basement (183 feet)

My goals are:
Minimal component cost
Relatively low voltage drop in the long DC run
Keeping installation as simple as possible

Each Schneider charge controller has 3 DC + and - terminals.  Each charge controller will be receiving the power from 2 strings in the array.  I'm deciding if it is best to combine strings using a MC4 Y connectors with fuses.  I'd like to avoid using a DC combiner box to reduce costs and simplify installation.  

The questions are:

1.  Is it ok to simply use MC4 Y connectors for each junction with 30A MC4 fuses installed on the joined side of the Y?
2.  It appears that DC disconnect breakers are necessary.  Where is the ideal place to put them in this scenario?  Can they be in the basement near the charge controllers or do they have to be out near the array?
3.  Is it required to have fuses (probably 15A) on each string before the Y?
4.  Where would one install the lightning protection device?
5.  Can I get away with avoiding the combiner box?  

(I couldn't find anything in the code for my AHJ having anything to do with this topic.)

Thank you.

Nate

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    If you limit to less than 3 strings, per mppt, a fuse/breaker is not required.
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• SolarEIT
    SolarEIT Registered Users Posts: 3
    Thanks Dave!  That is good to know.