Is my inverter draining power?

litninrod
litninrod Registered Users Posts: 12 ✭✭
I'm just getting started, so all help appreciated. 
I bought a small cabin on 15 acres, and I'm trying to set up an off grid system. It already had 3 tiny panels and a little charge controller, but I found that I could do almost nothing with that. So here's my setup so far. 
2 - Trina 235 w panels
2 - Duracell Ultra 230AH 6v golf cart batteries connected in series to make a 12v 230 AH system
HQST 40A MPPT Solar Charge Controller
Mighty Max 12 Volt 1000 Watt Pure sine wave inverter

So far, I've used the system to charge lanterns/flashlight and cell phone. I have a cell phone booster antenna plugged in. I don't have the stats for that but it uses minuscule power. I have 3 - 6w .5a 12v LED bulbs in a fixture, The CC says that load is 1.4a, so looks about accurate.

The only other thing I've run is a 12" fan. The tag says it's 120volt, .4amp. 
The charge controller has a battery picture with 4 bars to show how charged it is. Leaving the 3 bulb light fixture on for 4 hours doesn't see to affect that reading much. 
However, running that fan for 4 - 5 hours will drain all 4 of those bars. The voltage reading goes from 13.8 at full charge to 12.3 or so after running the fan. 
So .4 amps at 120 volts is the same as 4 amps at 12 volts, correct? Running that fan 5 hours then, should be 20 amp hours. A 230 Ah battery bank minus 20 Ah should mean my battery has 210 Ah left. So maybe enough to take me down to 3 bars from 4, but not clearing all 4 bars. 

The near future plan is to add 2 more of the Duracells. A few DC lights, a fan, a small chest freezer, and a TV or Radio would be pretty much everything I want to run at this time. (I have a generator to use for power tools and such.) 

So my questions - Is there something wrong with the inverter that's sucking out way more juice than it should? Or have I misunderstood something and that fan actually would use that much power?