motorhome solar system question

I have 3 solar panels on top of my motorhome, each panel is 300w 12v. the way they are wired at the moment with the connectors they each panel came gives me a total of 100v in full proper sunlight. I have 2 deep cycle 12v batteries as well as 6 other 12 car batteries that I've accumulated. first question is do I really need any batteries other than the 2 deep cycle 12v's I have? and do I need a charge controller that has the ability to charge 2 batteries? or maybe a better question really is can anyone tell me the proper way to keep a battery bank charged using the solar panels I have, and how I should have my system setup before I end up making a uneducated and possibly expensive mistake!  I'm new to this and I want to be properly educated solar and battery power applications. I appreciate any guidance and knowledge I can soak up from others here who have the knowledge I do not.

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    In order to figure out battery needs, you should have a handle on loads in terms of total watt-hours and maximum instantaneous wattage, and an objective for time before needing shore power or generator. In mobile applications, space can be a limiting factor. That said, if you will just be relying on batteries for 12v lighting and phone charging, a couple of deep cycle 12v batteries may work fine.

A 12v panel would typically put out 17-18v in full sun and reasonable temperature, and you would see ~50odd volts if 3 were wired in series. Seeing 100v from the string, and the rating of 300w each, suggests they aren't 12v. If so, you will need an MPPT type controller to charge a 12v bank.