Importance of Open Circuit voltage with reference to an Inverter.

Hey guys. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession working in the Solar energy field. So naturally, I don't have a lot of detailed knowledge about Electrical Engineering. So I had this question lingering on in my thoughts for a really long time. 
Why exactly is open circuit voltage important for sizing a string ? Why should the max system voltage be calculated based on the open circuit voltage and not the operating voltage ? 

If I connect a string whose system voltage according to Voc > Max Input voltage of inverter but system voltage according to max operating voltage < Max input voltage, what's gonna happen ?

Voc is ultimately "open circuit" voltage. There is no current flowing through the inverter if the circuits are open on the AC side. So why would it harm the inverter in anyway ? 
How can voltage only harm an inverter if there is no power ... if there is no real current flowing ? And soon as there is loading, the voltages will drop down to the operating voltage which is well under the limits. 

So why are strings sized according to Voc of a panel and not max operating voltage ?

I know this is a major misconception but I just can't understand it. I'd appreciate any help. 

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2017 #2
    The printed circuits in a charge controller  have copper tracks which the components are connected to, the space between them limits the voltages, wider gaps, higher voltage. So even if there is no current flow, the potential difference is still there, if the dielectric strength between is compromised, current will flow, in a not so useful way. Electronic components themselves have voltage limitations, so that needs be considered. Thats why the controller will have a maximum voltage limit to stay within safe operating parameters, which are probably quite conservative in quality equipment, perhaps not so, in cheap economic brands.