PV panels located over 300M from batteries?

markaubin
markaubin Registered Users Posts: 3
I have an off-grid power system that I've been using successfully for about 6 years. 
  • 8 - 6V Rolls S-530 batteries wired in series
  • Magnum Energy MS4448PAE inverter/charger
  • Midnite Solar EPanel
  • Winco PSS8B4W propane generator
I've always imagined that I would add PV to the system, but have put it off because there isn't good sun exposure near the power shed.

If I go up the hill about 300M or so, I can get excellent sun exposure. But I don't want to move any of my gear up the hill, just the panels.

Has anybody here had this sort of situation and can you share how you solved it? I did read over all the archives looking for a similar thread and couldn't find anything that matched this very well.

I realize it is not very practical to extend DC this distance. Most likely this means the voltage needs to be AC and boosted to minimize loss.

I'm wondering if I should be considering micro-inverters to get AC at the panels?

If I boost the AC, will I then need to drop it back down, requiring transformers at both ends, and conversion back to DC for the charge controller? Is there an integrated charge controller available that can handle high AC voltages?

Thanks for any advice!

Mark

Tagged:

Comments

• jonr
    jonr Solar Expert Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭✭
    No need for AC - you can get 600V MPPT charge controllers (eg: TriStar MPPT 600V).  How many watts are you thinking?

I am available for custom hardware/firmware development

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    jonr said:
    No need for AC - you can get 600V MPPT charge controllers (eg: TriStar MPPT 600V).  How many watts are you thinking?
    Exactly....  That's what MPPT controllers are for.  Run HV-DC the long distance, and then step down at the batteries.
    You can get models at 150Vdc, a few companies make some 250 & 300V models, and then a couple make 600VDC models