building 1st 24v system to run attic fans

flyedf
flyedf Registered Users Posts: 10 ✭✭
hello everyone, hoping this will run my two 120watt 120v masterflow eg5 attic fans.

EcoSolargy 230 W Watt 24V UL Polycrystalline PV Solar Panels x2 less then $200 ebay
MicroSolar 12V 600W (Peak 1200W) Pure Sine Wave Inverter - with Remote Wire Controller $90 amazon 
Duracell Golf Cart - Group Size GC2  x2 in series for 12volts $180 sam's club

I'm in southern CA, so and get fair amount of sun. 
how's this mppt 2400W smart solar controller, regulator, MPPT, DC12V/24V, 3.5" LCD monitor, 100A from ebay $70 

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2017 #2
    The Power Jack is most likely not an MPPT but a PWM, the price is simply too low, as far as being 100 amps the terminals look way to small, personally I've no experience with Power Jack, they do have a reputation of not being what they claim and not being very reliable

If budget allows it might be better to spend a little more and go with name brand equipment rather than seeking out the lowest prices, but it's your budget and my opinion, for what it's worth. 

Alternatively to keep costs down you could go PWM with an excellent CC but at 12V you would need 12V nominal panels, so if you haven't bought anything yet, you are in a good position to make alternate choices, you've come to the right place to get advice, there are some very smart and helpful people here, welcome aboard.

1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • littleharbor2