New Off Grid Project (My First Project)

o2bnMaine
o2bnMaine Registered Users Posts: 14 ✭✭
I am very new to solar. I fashion myself a light DIYer -- I know my limits and will hire an electrician to help with the project.

I have a contractor building a boat dock that will have a hoist to lift the boat out of the water. I am having difficulty thinking through how to approach this project. The project is in FL where the shortest day is around 10+ hours of daylight. I have found that that means we have just over 6 hours of usable time to power the solar panels.

There will be two types of power needs. [A] Always on (networking/security/lights) and [B] Intermittent usage (hoist/ceiling fan).

[A] I calculate this to require 2.4Kw per day (including a 30% buffer)
[B] The hoist is 11.6 amps @ 110 volts. Typically, the hoist will run for a few minutes at a time (down/no load will use less energy, I think). Lifting the boat will take a couple/few minutes each time. My calculations say this is less than 100 watts per "lift" action. The ceiling fan is supposed to peak at 75 watts while running.

One may lift a boat quite a few times in the day if you have ADHD. My family's pattern is to lower the boat into the water in the morning. Then, lift it so the hull is just barely out of the water when not in use during the day. When the day is over, the boat is lifted up higher in case a storm comes in. It only takes 15 seconds to lift the hull just above the water's surface (estimated).

Until I get this all figured out, I plan on buying a car battery and using it on the DC motor I plan on getting installed for the hoist. Typically, they sell hoists with AC, so I'm getting one special ordered. I will be talking to the motor company today or tomorrow to see what they think about all this.

EVENTUALLY, I want the boat dock to be 100% off grid. It will run me $3,000-4,000 to run electricity to the dock (300ft distance, burrow under a public road).