Geyser Heat Pumps

Hokies
Hokies Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi Everyone.

I'm new to the Geyser world of heat pumps and curious to know why all of the posts ended in 2014. Are people mostly happy with their units or have you cast it off for something better? I have water heater that is still going strong after 17 years, but wondering if this Geyser would work as well with the newer tank - should our current one not last for much longer.

I live in Central NY where central AC is a novelty and am hoping that the cool outflow could be vented to a warmer room in the house. How effective in the cooling of this unit?

Thanks for your thoughts.

Comments

• animatt
    animatt Solar Expert Posts: 295 ✭✭✭
    In the winter would you still want the heat pump cooling your house? The heater has to get its heat from somewhere. Fine during the summer, more questionable in the winter.

Southern climates with excess heat would have greater benefit from said product. 
  • Raj174
    Raj174 Solar Expert Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2017 #3
    Hello Hokies and welcome to the forum,

I don't have a geyser heat pump, but I do have a GE Geospring heat pump water heater. I can say that it makes a difference on the electric bill. Most current heat pump water heaters have an energy efficiency of about 2.5 to 1 or better over regular electric water heaters. The Geyser has an efficiency rating of 2 to 1. If you had a fairly new tank, 1 to 5 years the Geyser might be an option. However, I would not buy this unit for a 17 year old tank.