Scenario - im new to charge controller function

bsolar
bsolar Solar Expert Posts: 103 ✭✭✭
12v system stand alone system, its not grid tied - (2) 2500w inverters, (8)210ah golf cart batts wired to 12v, (12) panels that put out roughly 8amps each at peak sun.
...my question is - during peak sun hours i run the system, water pumps, fridge, fans, ect and pull alot on it .. can i expect (2) C60 chargers hooked into the bank and drawing from the same common output of the array to function to keep up with the load? will that work right or is my thinking flawed?

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2017 #2
    Your thinking is flawed if you intend to share one array with two controllers, each controller should have its own separate array, you could  split the current array into two, the controller outputs can be commoned as long as the settings for both controllers  are the same. Sidebar, that's a lot of inverter for a 12V system.
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If the C60s are the ones I'm thinking of, they're PWM type. I think if they were MPPT, they would confuse each other as they sweep to find max power point.

I'm guessing your 12v panels are wired in parallel for ~100a. If so, and the CC is PWM type, I don't see why it wouldn't work. It would need pretty heavy wire to handle 100a though.