Help please....

Options
2»

Comments

• AndrewC
    AndrewC Registered Users Posts: 28 ✭✭
    Options
    Bill:  This site explained it pretty well....thanks!

http://rredc.nrel.gov/solar/calculators/pvwatts/system.html
  • AndrewC
    Options
    It appears to me that along with the solar I BETTER have a generator ready for powering my batteries
  • AndrewC
    Options
    These are the batteries I am looking at:

https://www.batteriesplus.com/productdetails/wkdc12=100p
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Yep... You are learning the details now.

12 AGM batteries--I am not sure I would suggest that configuration. In any case, have you figured out your loads?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Horsefly
    Horsefly Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2017 #36
    Options
    @AndrewC:

I'm a relative noob too. Welcome to the club. I've learned most of what I know from these guys, so you should listen. They are awesome.  I don't think I saw a post of the 52% derating from Bill until I had managed to come up with my own:
    • Solar access - 97%. If there are times that some shadows or whatever impede the sun hitting your panels during the "peak sun hours".  For where we are putting our panels, it should be 100% (no derating), but I used 97% just in case. Probably lower than I needed.
    • Charge controller efficiency - 98%. PWM controllers tend to be less efficient than MPPT controllers except at the margin voltages. I didn't know what to use, so I used 98%. Probably higher than we needed.
    • Battery efficiency - 85%. Bottom line is that it takes more to go in than you get out. After reading and reading and reading, I decided on 85% not knowing better.