Power Jack 100a charge controller

w8qf
w8qf Registered Users Posts: 3
I've not found much on this piece of equipment other than it's mis advised as an MPPT but actually a PWM. Well, I've interested 2400w panel system on the roof of the cabin and ordered one of these charge controllers. There are 4 new Rolls L-16's and we'll see how well Power Jack preforms and I'll report back near th he end of November.

Dave

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭✭✭
    With their reputation I wouldn't expect much, if you can keep it alive.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• Marc Kurth
    Marc Kurth Solar Expert Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭✭
    I have no hands-on experience with them, but I have had two people tell me about their own bad experiences with Power Jack. Adding in online reports of failures is enough to make me steer clear of them - because there are so many good choices on the market today.

An unnoticed failure could put your expensive batteries at risk..........

Marc
    I always have more questions than answers. That's the nature of life.
  • Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Dave,  welcome to the Forum.

Could find little in the way of hard specs on CCs that may well be what you have on order.

One youtube seemed to imply that this might be a  Diversion Controller.  Many inexpensive,  seemingly high current controllers are this type.

You have some nice,  new Surrettes,  which would probably enjoy a fully-featured Charge Controller (CC),  with the ability to set Absorb and Float voltages,  and EQ voltage if those L-16s are Flooded batteries.

Also,  it is very important that any charge source has the ability to use a Battery Temperature Sensor (BTS).   This is essential to fully charge batteries,  while protecting them from over-charge.