Electricity to my Ice-cream van from 12v alternator by using mppt charger

Hi everyone,
I hope anyone can help me in my problem.

I am new in solar technology.
I created my an ice-cream van that I struggled to supply it with low cost electricity. My van needs 7000w, and I am looking to do my handmade electricity supply by connect the van's 12v alternator to mppt charger.
My question is, how can I use the van's alternator to supply electricity to the MPPT charger ?

Comments

• Marc Kurth
    Marc Kurth Solar Expert Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2016 #2
    You cannot do this at a low cost. 7000 watts on a 12v system is extremely difficult, very complex and super costly to do. You would have to divide it into multiple systems. While not technically impossible, this is darn close to it.

Example: Your alternator is likely rated for 1400-2000 watts peak. It was not designed to do that continuously, so it would burn out prematurely if forced to do so.

Note how far apart 7000 and 2000 are!

Are you sure that your load is 7000 watts?

I always have more questions than answers. That's the nature of life.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Let us know more about your installation/needs...

7,000 Watts is like 4x electric room heaters on full. Is it you are using 7,000 Watt*Hours per day (say 10 hour driving/delivering)?
    • 7,000 Watt*Hours per day / 10 hours on road =  700 Watt average load
    That would still be a large system, but much better at 700 Watts vs 7,000 Watt load...

Watts is a "rate" like miles per hour.

Watt*Hours is an "amount" like miles driven.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Johann
    Johann Solar Expert Posts: 245 ✭✭✭