first timer

Sarah
Sarah Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hey Everyone, Glad I found this site :) I have 3 *  24 v panels 200 watt and PWM controller 50 a. My question is should I keep the controller near the solar panel or battery for better efficiency ? The distance between the solar panel and battery is 40  feet. Also , Which size wires should i use? My load will be ( 2 )  12v air coolers connected directly to battery. Sorry for asking such a basic question, but this is my first time working  with solar.
Thanks in advance

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum,

put the controller near the battery.  Make sure you have a DC circuit breaker between the controller and the battery.

Since you are using 24 volt panels with a 12 volt battery, you are missing out on at least half of your potential power.  You would benefit greatly from an MPPT controller such as the Midnite Kid.

Your three panels need to be combined (near the panels) with a combiner box and a circuit breaker for each panel.  The combined output then runs to the controller.   I need the specs on the panels to advise you on the wire size. 

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • Sarah
  • softdown
    softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2016 #4
    These stringent calls for the DC circuit breaker between the controller and battery bank seem to be relatively new. Sure does make a lot of sense though. With an FM80 on a 48 volt system, what size circuit breaker would be called for? I'd try to research the question myself but working on other projects at the moment.

Perhaps cruising our hosts web site will point me to the right one...

EDIT: Thinking the FM80 has circuit breakers built into it...