BTS questions spurred by high temp batt fault

nick
nick Registered Users Posts: 10 ✭✭
Hi everyone,

Hoping to get some insight on battery temperature sensors, and whether having more than one installed could lead to problems. I'm a beginner, so easy on the super-technical stuff if possible! Apologies in advance that this is a rather long post.

Our setup:
Three 250W Kyocera panels
Midnite classic charge controller + whizzbang
Four 6v 305 amp-hr Sun Xtender AGM batteries in series (outside house in a wooden box)
Magnum 4024 inverter
Magnum remote control (the basic one)

We have the Magnum BTS installed (on the battery lug) and also the Midnite BTS installed (stuck onto the side of a battery). We have set charging voltages, times, etc via the Midnite charge controller. When you check these settings via the Magnum remote control, the information has already been drawn in. So it seems like the system talks to itself.

We've been using this setup to power our house for the last six months and it has worked like a dream. But yesterday, while I was not at home, my wife texted to say the Magnum remote in the house was displaying a fault: high batt temp. A few minutes later, without doing anything, the fault light went off and everything seemed back to normal. She thinks the power might have temporarily cut out, because the internet stopped working for a few minutes (there was nothing else on that could have signified a loss of power).

According to the manual, this fault indicates inverter/charger has shut down because BTS has reached a temperature greater than 54C / 129 F. Once the BTS cools, the system automatically switches back on.

Question 1: What is the BTS measuring? The internal temp of the battery (which I assume is kind of an extrapolation), or the air around it? Because if the latter, I don't see how it could get to 54C. (We live in Sonoma county, CA.)