12v DC wind turbine - and connecting straight to 2 large 12v batteries.

GonzoTheFreak
GonzoTheFreak Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi, new here, quick question for all you guys in the know: I've got a 200watt solar power generator set up, can I simply connect the 12v DC wind generator to the batteries or must I buy a hybrid controller... Or even just double up the wires going into the charge controller for the solar? I'm new to this, got until the end of the month to sort it all out before I set up for full-time use. Thanks for any help in advance!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    It depends on your wind turbine... Some have internal battery charge controllers. Others need an external controller.

The "typical" setup is Wind Turbine -> rectifier -> battery bank -> Diversion Controller -> resistance heater

The idea being that most wind turbines will over speed in high winds if they are not loaded (connected to a working battery bank). When the battery bank is full, a diversion controller "turns on" and dumps current to an electrical heating element. When the battery is less than 100% full, then diversion controller turns off and the battery is charged again.

And you would keep your solar panels+charge controller connected as it was (directly to the battery bank). The solar charge controller will turn the panels on/off as needed to keep the battery bank charged (assuming you have enough sun+solar panels).

Wind turbines are not usually the easiest/best way to help charge your battery bank (a tower to hold the turbine, and the wiring+charge controllers for wind turbines are not cheap--plus most people do not have enough wind on site).

But since you already have solar panels (and perhaps you may want to add more)--Experimenting with a wind turbine as an additional power source may be helpful for you.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • paulgilpin