Need help for a portable power pack

MSR01MSR01 Posts: 1Registered Users
Hello,
I am new to solar and found this forum while researching for the portable power pack I want to build for my ham radio.  It should be as light as possible since I want to carry it in my backpack with the radio and also take a beating on what it means about batteries discharge and life span.  I also want to use solar power to recharge and maximize the utilization time.

The LiFePO seems quite attractive for that but I am very confused by the controller/charger.   My radio can put up to 100W RF output and for that it needs at least 20A @ 13.8VDC.   I normally only need that much juice for 30% of the time (only while transmitting).  For receiving it needs much less power. However, I also want to hook other stuff to the power pack such as my tablet and my phone to recharge them.  Both use very few power since they take just 5VDC @ ~2A (typical USB port).

I found several brands of batteries and  charger controllers but got stuck on this part.   I already have the solar panel, which is an Enerplex Commandr 20, two of them, that can put 20W, 19VDC @~1.1A each.  I am aware they will not be able to recharge the batteries while I'm using the radio but should at least extend the time I can use it if using full power.  If able to use the radio's minimum power (QRP @ 5 to 10W) things will be much better.    I'd like to be able to use the radio for three to four hours.  With the solar panels helping I would expect to add at least one more hour to that.  I believe the controller/charger must have what is called pass-through capability so the panels can provide energy to the battery while the radio is draining it?

My (initial) questions are:
1) do I have to use a controller/charger specially made for LiFePO batteries? - I read about some programmable ones.  I'm not looking for anything very sophisticated.
2) what should be the charger/controller's capacity?  At least 25A on the load port?