How to tie solar into system with normal converter for battery charging.

I have a lot of experience with solar at this point thanks to all the help of the forum and diving in on a 1,400 watt install with my DIY RV two years ago.  This year I will be traveling in a class a with a generator and while I would like to go full solar I'm going to hold off until I know it's a good fit for my needs.  I picked up a small system with two 75w grid tie panels and a Flexmax 60 charge controller I've been thinking about tossing on it.  I figure if it doesn't fit my needs somebody will like having it on there and it's a spare system for me anyway.  So how would I tie it in as I have no experience with a system that isn't fully independent.  Can I just run it to the coach batteries and be all set and good to go or does it need to be further isolated from being charged by the generator and converter?

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    I am not quite sure I understand your question... The simple answer is to wire the panels to the solar charge controller, and then wire the charge controller directly to the battery bank/battery bus (short heavy cables, through a fuse/circuit breaker on the positive lead).

150 Watt array on an Outback Flexmate 60 charge controller is bit overkill (small array on a large MPPT type charge controller). Is this your final configuration--Or are you planning on a larger array later?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Please explain, "  two 75w grid tie panels " Are these Thin film high voltage, low amperage panels?

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• TucsonAZ