How to connect an alternator to my vans solar system

Hi I have a 97 Dodge Ram Van 3500 that I've been slowly converting. I got a pv system from Renogy and was wondering how I can connect my alternator to my pv system. I have three 100 watt Renogy solar panels (hopefully soon 4), a 40 amp mppt Renogy charge controller, a Vmax 175 ah AGM battery and a 2000 watt Renogy pure sine inverter. I'm new to all this so I really appreciate your help thank you!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Are you going to have two different battery banks (one to start the van, a second for the "house" power)?

The typical method is to get a relay (or electronic relay/diode battery isolator) that only connects the two battery banks together when the alternator is charging:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias=automotive&field-keywords=battery+isolator&rh=n:15684181,k:battery+isolator

There are also various DC to DC battery charger options... Here is one:

http://www.xantrex.com/power-products/power-accessories/auxiliary-battery-charger.aspx

There are pluses minuses with each type.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • SaraAnarchy88
    SaraAnarchy88 Registered Users Posts: 6
    edited March 2016 #3
    Awesome! Thank you! If I understand correctly the battery isolator is what I'm thinking. Do I connect the isolator directly to the house battery or the charge controller? What are the cons of this type of system? Thank you so much for your help your the best!
  • BB.
    The isolator is simply connected (with the correct size wiring) between your two battery banks. The simple version is just a heavy electrical relay that "turns on" at ~13.x volst and turns off at ~12. volts.