MPPT Charge Controller Solar and Auto Alternator hook up.

Psychowolff
Psychowolff Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi Everyone!

I'm rather new to the solar world and have a 'simple' question that I'm hoping some of you might be able to answer!

OK, I'm looking at using something like the MorningStar TS-60 MPPT controller in my RV to charge my coach batteries from 2 - 300W panels. (~600 Total) I currently have a pair of 170AHr 12V batteries that i would like to use in series and I might be getting another pair to make a 170AHr 48V system. I know the Controller will feed a 12/24/48V Battery bank but I would also like to use the RV's Alternator (~65A@14V) to charge the batteries while driving.

Is it possible (and is it normal?) to hook both the Solar AND the Alternator output to the Controller to charge a 24V battery bank (or 48V) and then also have the bank Discharge through the controller into a 12V distribution panel in the RV? Would I need the TS-60 controller or would the TS-30 be enough due to the higher voltage/Lower Amps?

Thanks!
Mike

Comments

• bill von novak
    bill von novak Solar Expert Posts: 891 ✭✭✭✭

Is it possible (and is it normal?) to hook both the Solar AND the Alternator output to the Controller to charge a 24V battery bank (or 48V) and then also have the bank Discharge through the controller into a 12V distribution panel in the RV? Would I need the TS-60 controller or would the TS-30 be enough due to the higher voltage/Lower Amps?

Thanks!
    Mike
    Connect both to battery bank - yes, no problem
    Discharge through controller - no, your battery bank will generally go right to the 12V distribution panel.  If you want a separate LVD (low voltage disconnect) then that's OK but the TS-60 won't do that for you.  The old Trace/Xantrex C40 does a good job there.  Generally that gets attached to everything EXCEPT the inverter, which always goes as directly as possible to the battery.

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭